SB 650 - REAL TEACHER EVALUATION - Update Bill failed in Committee

The dust hasn't settled yet in the aftermath of the scramble of Jindal's minions in the legislature to dismantle public education and to discredit and decertify the teaching profession. . .

But next to be heard in the Senate Education Committee is SB 650 offered by Senator Ben Nevers. Read the bill then dust yourselves off and begin contacting members of the Senate Education Committee RIGHT AWAY asking them to support this bill. Here are the Digest and full versions of the bill for you to digest:

http://legis.la.gov/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=787035 DIGEST

http://legis.la.gov/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=787031 FULL VERSION

In addition to eliminating the guarantee of lawsuits that the value-added feature of HB 974 will bring, this bill actually provides what any good teacher evaluation methodology should offer - improvement to the quality and effectiveness of the teacher and improved learning opportunities for the student. HB 974 is purely punitive in nature and obviously designed to devalue certification and remove the highly qualified status from the Profession of Teaching.

Here is contact information for the members of the Senate Education Committee. Take a minute to thank Senator Nevers and offer your support to him as he presents this bill in committee. Also thank Senator LaFleur who was the only member of this committee to vote AGAINST HB 974 and HB 976 on final passage. I will post the hearing date and time as soon as it is announced.

Committee Members


Senator Conrad Appel (Chairman)
721 Papworth Avenue
Suite 102A
Metairie, LA 70005
(866) 946-3133
appelc@legis.la.gov

Senator Eric LaFleur (Vice-Chairman)
P.O. Box 617
Ville Platte, LA 70586
(337) 363-5019
lafleure@legis.la.gov

Senator Dan Claitor
7520 Perkins Road
Suite 160
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
(225) 765-0206
claitord@legis.la.gov

Senator Jack Donahue
3030 East Causeway Approach
Mandeville, LA 70448
(985) 727-7949
donahuej@legis.la.gov

Senator Elbert L. Guillory
633 East Landry Street
Opelousas, LA 70570
(337) 943-2457
guillorye@legis.la.gov

Senator Mike Walsworth
4007 White's Ferry Rd
Suite A
West Monroe, LA 71291
(318) 340-6453
walsworthm@legis.la.gov

Senator Mack "Bodi" White
808 O'Neal Lane
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
(225) 272-1324
whitem@legis.la.gov

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your Comments Welcome